English Football League One

English Football League One Top Scorer Betting

Prior to the start of the 2022/23 season, Jonson Clarke-Harris, hailing from Peterborough, was the favorite to win the Golden Boot award. Bristol Rovers’ Aaron Collins and Colby Bishop from Portsmouth were close behind in the odds.

As it turns out, the bookmakers’ predictions were accurate, as JCH currently sits at the top of the leaderboard with the end of the season approaching. Derby’s David McGoldrick and Ipswich Town’s Conor Chaplin have surpassed Collins and Bishop, who were also highly anticipated contenders before the start of the season.

English Football League One Winner Betting

Plymouth are currently in the top spot in League One. The number of games yet to be played by each team could ultimately determine which one secures the coveted position, especially considering the busy schedule ahead until the end of the season.

While Ipswich, Sheffield Wednesday, and Barnsley are pushing for the top stop and still have a mathematical chance to claim the top spot, it may prove to be an insurmountable task for any of these three teams.

English Football League One Relegation Betting

According to bookmakers, Forest Green Rovers and Morecambe were expected to be the two teams most likely to be relegated to League Two, while Cambridge United, MK Dons, and Accrington Stanley were also in the mix. FGR, who lost their manager Rob Edwards to Championship side Watford at the start of the season, find themselves at the bottom of the table, despite his previous efforts to secure promotion.

The race to avoid relegation is currently tight between Cambridge United, MK Dons, and Morecambe for the remaining three spots. If results do not go their way, Morecambe and Accrington Stanley, could all find themselves in danger of being relegated as well.

Oxford Utd3586432218362523169105744+13571.62DDWdDLWLLDDDWdDL
Leyton Orient34736192476523181491142420511.50WWLWLWWWWDWWLWLW
10 Lincoln City34664201366617191212103732+5481.41dWWDWWLLDddWWDWW
11 Northampton3484524196292331146144750-3481.41LDLWDWWDWLLDLWDW
12 Bristol Rovers3475526206292129137144749-2461.35WLLWLWLLLWWLLWLW
13 Wigan3492624175572426147134843+5411.20LWLLWDDDWWLWLLWD
14 Exeter35567111761101531117172648-22401.14LWWLLDLdWWLWWLLD
15 Wycombe3356522214581923911134144-3381.15DWWLdLWDDLDWWLdL
16 Reading35945291925101733119154652-6381.08WWDLWLLWDDWWDLWL
17 Cambridge Utd3374716193481522108153141-10381.15WLLWLLLWddWLLWLL
18 Burton Albion3364616174491326108152943-14381.15WdLWWLWLDLWdLWWL
19 Shrewsbury34728162043101026115182646-20381.11WLDDLWLWLLWLDDLW
20 Charlton3465729251871827713144752-5341.00DLLDDdDLLLDLLDDd
21 Cheltenham3263718233310102096172843-15331.03LLWWWDDLWLLLWWWD
22 Port Vale325291922358133087173252-20310.96LLDLLLWLDLLLDLLL
23 Fleetwood Town3433111528368192869193456-22270.79WWLDLDLLLDWWLDLD
24 Carlisle3335914271312133048212757-30200.60LLLLLLLWLLLLLLLL

Popular Questions

What is the English Football League One?

The English Football League One, often referred to as League One, is the third tier of professional football in England, below the Premier League and the Championship. It consists of 24 teams that play each other twice a season, once at home and once away.

Who are the current champions of the English Football League One?

The current champions of the English Football League One are Sunderland AFC, who won the title in the 2021-2022 season. They finished the season with 99 points, eight points ahead of second-placed Wigan Athletic.

How many teams get promoted from the English Football League One to the Championship?

At the end of each season, the top two teams in the English Football League One are automatically promoted to the Championship. In addition, the team that finishes third enters a playoff with the teams that finish in fourth, fifth, and sixth place, with the winner of the playoff also being promoted.

Who are some of the most successful clubs in the history of the English Football League One?

Some of the most successful clubs in the history of the English Football League One include Charlton Athletic, who have won the title three times, and Wigan Athletic, who have won it twice. Other notable clubs include Sheffield United, Wolverhampton Wanderers, and Brentford.

How many matches are played in a season in the English Football League One?

In a typical season, each team in the English Football League One plays 46 matches. The season usually begins in August and runs until May, with each team playing two matches a week for most of the season.

History of English Football League One

The English Football League One, commonly referred to as League One, is the third-highest division in the English football league system. The league was founded in 2004, but its roots can be traced back to the formation of the Football League Second Division in 1892.

After several changes to the league’s structure, it became known as the Football League Third Division in 1920. Over the years, various clubs have experienced success in the division, including the likes of Sunderland, Charlton Athletic, Sheffield United, and Wolverhampton Wanderers.

In 1992, the Premier League was formed, leading to a significant restructuring of the English football league system. The Football League Third Division was renamed to Football League Two, and a new third-tier competition, the Football League First Division, was introduced.

All English League One Teams

If you want to check out other teams in the English League One, then you may also like the following posts:

Kasra Dash avatar