If you are looking to travel away to watch your beloved team play Reading you will thoroughly enjoy the atmosphere at the Madejski Stadium.

Be sure to head over to our in depth guide to Madejski Stadium away fans to find out all of the essential information regarding the fastest route to and from the stadium, and also if there are any pubs, restaurants and cafés in the local area that are welcoming to visiting away fans.

Reading FC is professional football club that plays in the Championship which is the second tier of English Football. Managed by Noel Hunt after the sacking of Paul Ince the side have had a rough season and sit in the relegation zone.

In our Reading Football Club guide, we showcase all of the information from the squad, upcoming fixtures and results, and also the heritage of Reading Football Club.

Reading Registered Squad

Here is a list of the registered squad for Reading 2024:

Goal Keepers

David Button
Marcus Hahnemann
Jamie Young
Rafael Cabral Barbosa
Coniah Boyce-Clarke
Harvey Collins
Tom Norcott
Joel Pereira


Graeme Murty
Nicky Shorey
Sam Hutchinson
Harlee Dean
Ibrahima Sonko
Ady Williams
Dominic Ballard
Thomas Holmes
Zane Monlouis
Ivar Ingimarsson
Jeriel Dorsett
Scott Dann
Tyler Bindon
Mouhamadou-Naby Sarr
Ramarni Medford-Smith
Michael Stickland
Tivonge Rushesha
Matthew Carson
Louie Holzman
John Ryan
Ashqar Ahmed
John Clarke
Kelvin Abrefa


Andy Yiadom
Steve Sidwell
Benjamin Elliott
Glen Little
Charlie Savage
Andy Hughes
James Harper
Danny Drinkwater
Bobby Convey
Paul Brooker
Oviemuno Ejaria
Felipe Araruna Hoffmann
Mamadou Loum Ndiaye
Ricky Newman
Amadou Salif Mbengue
Lewis Wing
Claudio Osorio
Michael Craig
Kian Leavy
Ben Purcell
Jayden Onen
Charlie Wellens
Joseph Ajose
Clinton Mola
Femi Azeez
Lynford Sackey
Judilson Mamadu Tuncara Gomes

Attacking Midfielders

Andy Carroll
Shane Long
Harvey Knibbs
Shaun Goater
Nicky Forster
Sam Smith
Dave Kitson
Paul Omo Mukairu
Lloyd Owusu
Jayden Wareham
Dean Morgan
Ayub Masika
Kelvin Ehibhationham
Nahum Melvin-Lambert
Mamadi Camara
Rashawn Scott
Taylan Harris
Caylon Vickers


No table found

Current Reading Manager

ManagerAppointment DateToDays in Charge
Ruben Selles14/07/202324/07/2024376

Reading Upcoming Fixtures

No sheet found

Reading Previous Results

No sheet found

Popular Questions

Write me 3 popular questions and answers about Reading Football Club

Reading Football Club, also known as Reading FC, was founded in 1871 and is based in Reading, Berkshire, England. The club has played at the Madejski Stadium since 1998, and has a strong local following. Despite never having won a major trophy, the club has had some successful seasons, including reaching the Premier League in 2006 and 2012.

Who are some of Reading FC’s most famous players?

Reading FC has had many talented players over the years, including striker Dave Kitson, who was the club’s top scorer for three consecutive seasons, goalkeeper Marcus Hahnemann, who made over 300 appearances for the club. Another notable player is Shane Long, who helped lead the club to promotion to the Premier League in 2012.

What is the current status of Reading FC?

As of April 2023, Reading FC is competing in the EFL Championship, which is the second tier of English football. The team has had a mixed season so far, but remains in contention for promotion to the Premier League. The club is currently managed by Veljko Paunovic, who took over in August 2020 and led the team to a seventh-place finish in the 2020-21 season.

Manager History

01/07/2023 – 30/06/2025Rubén SellésSpain15/06/1983
11/04/2023 – 30/06/2023Noel HuntIreland26/12/1982
20/02/2022 – 10/04/2023Paul InceEngland21/10/1967
29/08/2020 – 19/02/2022Veljko PaunovićSerbia21/08/1977
14/10/2019 – 29/08/2020Mark BowenWales07/12/1963
23/12/2018 – 09/10/2019José GomesPortugal28/08/1970
07/12/2018 – 22/12/2018Scott MarshallScotland01/05/1973
23/03/2018 – 06/12/2018Paul ClementEngland08/01/1972
01/07/2016 – 20/03/2018Jaap StamNetherlands17/07/1972
17/12/2015 – 30/06/2016Brian McDermottEngland08/04/1961
10/12/2015 – 16/12/2015Martin KuhlEngland10/01/1965
16/12/2014 – 03/12/2015Steve ClarkeScotland29/08/1963
26/03/2013 – 15/12/2014Nigel AdkinsEngland11/03/1965
15/03/2013 – 17/03/2013Eamonn DolanIreland20/09/1967
17/12/2009 – 11/03/2013Brian McDermottEngland08/04/1961
01/07/2009 – 17/12/2009Brendan RodgersNorthern Ireland26/01/1973
09/10/2003 – 13/05/2009Steve CoppellEngland09/07/1955
10/09/2003 – 03/10/2003Kevin DillonEngland18/12/1959
13/10/1999 – 10/09/2003Alan PardewEngland18/07/1961
26/03/1998 – 12/10/1999Tommy BurnsScotland16/12/1956
18/03/1998 – 25/03/1998Alan PardewEngland18/07/1961
01/07/1997 – 17/03/1998Terry BullivantEngland23/09/1956
14/12/1994 – 30/06/1997Mick GoodingEngland12/04/1959
14/12/1994 – 30/06/1997Jimmy QuinnNorthern Ireland18/11/1959
10/05/1991 – 13/12/1994Mark McGheeScotland25/05/1957
01/07/1989 – 30/06/1991Ian PorterfieldScotland11/02/1946
01/02/1984 – 23/10/1989Ian BranfootEngland26/01/1947
01/07/1977 – 30/06/1984Maurice EvansEngland22/09/1936
01/07/1972 – 30/06/1977Charlie HurleyIreland04/10/1936
01/07/1969 – 30/06/1971Jack MansellEngland22/08/1927
01/07/1963 – 30/06/1968Roy BentleyEngland17/05/1924
01/07/1952 – 31/10/1955Jack SmithWales27/10/1911
01/07/1947 – 30/06/1952Ted DrakeEngland16/08/1912
01/04/1939 – 30/06/1947Joe EdelstonEngland27/04/1891
01/08/1935 – 28/02/1939Billy ButlerEngland17/03/1900
01/07/1931 – 30/06/1935Joe SmithEngland25/06/1889
01/07/1923 – 30/06/1925Arthur ChadwickEngland00/07/1875

Reading Trophies

No sheet found


Reading Football Club, also known as Reading FC, has a rich history dating back to its founding in 1871. The club has had several successful periods, including reaching the Premier League in 2006 and 2012, and has a reputation for playing attacking and possession-based football.

Reading FC has traditionally lined up in a 4-4-2 or 4-2-3-1 formation, with an emphasis on quick passing and movement. In recent seasons, the team has also focused on solid defensive play, with an emphasis on pressing and limiting the opposition’s time on the ball.

Under the current manager Veljko Paunovic, Reading FC continues to prioritize possession and attacking play, while also working on their defensive shape and organization. Despite never winning a major trophy, Reading FC remains a popular and well-respected club in English football.

Other Championship League Teams

If you want to check out other teams in the Championship League, then you may also like the following posts: