Newport County

If you are looking to travel away and watch your club play Newport County and you will love the atmosphere at Rodney Parade.

Be sure to check out our in depth guide to Rodney Parade away fans to find out all of the essential information like the fastest route to the stadium, if there are any surrounding bars, restaurants and cafés that are welcoming for visiting away fans.

Newport County Football Club is a professional football club that plays in League Two. Managed by Graham Coughlan the club are hoping to avoid being dragged into a relegation battle.

In our Newport County Football Club guide, we provide you with all the information regarding upcoming fixtures and results to the history of Newport County.

Newport County Registered Squad

Here is a list of the registered squad for Newport County 2024:

Goal Keepers

Jonathan Maxted5 (1)000
Nick Townsend50 (0)020
Callum Brain
Fraser Needham
Evan Ovendale


Declan Drysdale6 (8)020
Ryan Delaney41 (0)141
James Clarke30 (2)220
Lazar Stojsavljevic
Bryn Morris54 (0)880
Harrison Bright4 (5)010
Josh Seberry7 (5)000
Scot Bennett52 (2)070
Matthew Baker33 (3)020
Kyle Jameson15 (1)140
Mark O’Brien
Matthew Bondswell12 (26)040
Lewys Twamley
Callum Jones
Nelson Sanca1 (0)010
Joe Woodiwiss


Lewis Payne26 (14)2110
Jack Norris0 (3)000
Harry Charsley26 (10)480
Nathan Wood6 (12)110
Kevin Ellison
Aaron Wildig36 (4)390
Adam Lewis28 (2)241
Ioan Evans
Morgan Evans
Corey Evans
Sonny Lewis
Alfie Young
Callum Ryan-Phillip
Lestyn Evans
Harrison Paige
Tom Stokes
Jonah Williams
Zack Maher
Aneurin Livermore


Omar Bogle27 (4)870
Offrande Zanzala6 (10)310
Shane McLoughlin40 (2)640
James Waite13 (23)060
Will Evans50 (3)25100
Seb Palmer-Houlden30 (10)910
Luke Jephcott3 (11)010
Elis Watts
Ryan Hillier
Kiban Rai3 (15)100

Newport County Upcoming Fixtures

Upcoming GameCompetionOpponentVenue
Sat 20 15:00League TwoSalfordHome
Sat 27 15:00League TwoBradfordAway

Newport County Previous Results

Popular Questions

When was Newport County FC founded?

Newport County FC was founded in 1912.

What is the home stadium of Newport County FC?

The home stadium of Newport County FC is Rodney Parade, which has a capacity of 7,850 spectators.

What are some of Newport County FC’s notable achievements?

Newport County FC’s notable achievements include winning the Welsh Cup in 1980 and reaching the fifth round of the FA Cup in 1949 and 2019. The club also won promotion to the English Football League in 2013 and has since maintained their status in the league.

Manager History

20/10/2022 – 30/06/2025Graham CoughlanIreland18/11/1974
15/10/2022 – 19/10/2022Darren KellyNorthern Ireland30/06/1979
20/10/2021 – 10/10/2022James RowberryWales26/04/1985
02/10/2021 – 19/10/2021Wayne HatswellEngland08/02/1975
10/03/2017 – 01/10/2021Michael FlynnWales17/10/1980
10/10/2016 – 09/03/2017Graham WestleyEngland04/03/1968
29/09/2016 – 09/10/2016Sean McCarthyWales12/09/1967
15/01/2016 – 28/09/2016Warren FeeneyNorthern Ireland17/01/1981
02/10/2015 – 13/01/2016John SheridanIreland01/10/1964
01/07/2015 – 01/10/2015Terry ButcherEngland28/12/1958
07/02/2015 – 30/06/2015James DackEngland02/06/1972
01/07/2011 – 06/02/2015Justin EdinburghEngland18/12/1969
01/04/2011 – 28/09/2011Anthony HudsonEngland11/03/1981
15/05/2008 – 30/06/2010Dean HoldsworthEngland08/11/1968
01/07/2002 – 30/06/2004Peter NicholasWales10/11/1959
01/07/1989 – 30/06/1993John RelishEngland05/10/1953
01/09/1988 – 30/06/1989John MahoneyWales20/09/1946
01/07/1982 – 30/06/1985Colin AddisonEngland18/05/1940
01/07/1978 – 31/12/1981Len AshurstEngland10/03/1939
01/07/1977 – 30/06/1978Colin AddisonEngland18/05/1940
01/07/1976 – 30/06/1977Jimmy ScoularScotland11/01/1925
01/07/1974 – 30/06/1975Brian HarrisEngland16/05/1935
01/07/1970 – 30/06/1974Billy LucasWales15/01/1918
01/07/1969 – 30/06/1971Bobby FergusonEngland08/01/1938
01/07/1962 – 30/06/1967Billy LucasWales15/01/1918
01/07/1961 – 30/06/1962Bobby EvansScotland16/07/1927
01/07/1953 – 30/06/1961Billy LucasWales15/01/1918
01/07/1950 – 30/06/1953Frederick StansfieldWales12/12/1917
01/07/1946 – 30/06/1950Tom BromilowEngland07/10/1894
01/07/1936 – 30/06/1937Tom BromilowEngland07/10/1894
01/07/1935 – 30/06/1937Louis PageEngland27/03/1899
01/07/1913 – 30/06/1917Sam HollisEngland00/00/1866

Newport County Trophies

Third Division (South)Champion1938-39
Welsh CupRunner-up1962-63
Welsh CupWinner1979-80
Welsh CupRunner-up1986-87
Hellenic LeagueChampion1989-90
Hellenic League CupWinner1990-91
Gloucestershire Senior Challenge CupWinner1993-94
Southern League – Midland DivisionChampion1994-95
Gwent Senior CupWinner1996-97
Gwent Senior CupWinner1997-98
Gwent Senior CupWinner1998-99
Southern League – Midland DivisionRunner-up1998-99
Herefordshire Senior CupWinner1999-00
Gwent Senior CupWinner1999-00
Gwent Senior CupWinner2000-01
Gwent Senior CupWinner2001-02
FAW Premier CupRunner-up2004-05
FAW Premier CupRunner-up2006-07
FAW Premier CupWinner2007-08
Conference – SouthChampion2010-11
FA TrophyRunner-up2011-12


Newport County Football Club is a professional football club based in Newport, South Wales. The club was founded in 1912 and currently plays in the English Football League Two, which is the fourth tier of English football. Newport County FC is known for its physical and direct style of play, with a strong emphasis on defensive solidity and set-piece prowess.

The team often deploys a 3-5-2 formation, with two strikers up front and wing-backs providing attacking width.

Despite being a relatively small club, Newport County FC has a dedicated and passionate fan base and has enjoyed a number of notable achievements throughout its history, including winning the Welsh Cup and reaching the fifth round of the FA Cup.

Other English League One Teams

If you want to check out other teams in the English League Two, then you may also like the following posts: